New Cot for Camping Over

Not a long post here but I have purchased and am using the Cablea’s XL Cot for when I camp over and wish to be in a tent and not sleeping in the back of the Outback.  The cot is very tough, large enough to carry and hold me even after a 74lb weight loss so far, and I love that it is wide.  No sense of falling off when I am laying on it.  It comes with a pivot arm to get the last cross beam into place and it really does work like a charm. Having said that, I did need to use a 14″ by 1/2″ wooden dowel of oak to get the second to last cross beam to sit into place. As I have used it the material has stretched slightly and I no longer need to use that wooden dowel.  The cot is 85″ x 40″ x 20-1/2″ when full assembled and is so very comfortable. With my memory foam pad, an air pad under that and my bag on top of all of that, I sleep as well as I do at home. Something very important if one is out at a dark site for several days and needs to keep their sleep up so they can observe at night without being fatigue. I had thought of owning one of these several years ago, but put it off and now I wish I never had. Your up off the ground so any cold from the ground does not get into your sleeping bag/pad,  When done, it folds up to 42″ x 13.5″ x 7″ and fits into its accompanying bag EASY. Those who know me know how I hate bags and putting things in them, but this one is so easy even I can manage it with ease.  So here are some pictures of the cot in my garage and if your looking for something to increase comfort as your middle age like me and have grown tired of the ground, I HIGHLY recommend this cot.

Also here is the video from Cabela’s on how to put this together. It really is as easy as they show.

Cabela’s Video on Setup of XL Cot

Leave a comment